World Culinary Schools

Diploma · Initial professional preparation

Career Pastry & Baking Arts (Diploma Program)

Institute of Culinary Education (ICE) · ICE New York, New York · United States

Visit Official WebsiteRequest Information
Official award
Career Pastry & Baking Arts Diploma
Duration
8-11 months (8 months morning/afternoon, 10 months weekend, 11 months evening)
Delivery
On campus · Full-time
Tuition
USD 45,450see costs below

Award and recognition

Dough-based and yeast-raised products, cakes and chocolate confectionery, with technique built up in a structured progression and a supervised externship.

Qualification category
Diploma
Award status
Provider-issued awardIssued by the training provider itself. Check separately whether any authority or employer recognises it.
Awarding body
Institute of Culinary Education
Issued by the school
Yes: the provider issues this award itself
On completion
A diploma in Pastry & Baking Arts from ICE.
Purpose
Initial professional preparation
Subject
Baking & pastry, Pâtisserie, Bread baking
Entry level
Entry level not stated
  • Stated by the schoolAccrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges (ACCSC)Accreditation

    Scope: Institution (as stated by ICE)

  • Stated by the schoolNew York State Bureau of Proprietary School Supervision (BPSS)Licence to operate or award

    Scope: New York campus (as stated in catalog)

Structure and practical training

Duration
8-11 months (8 months morning/afternoon, 10 months weekend, 11 months evening)
Delivery
On campusTaught at the campus.
Teaching language
English
Note on hours
400+ classroom hours before the externship (page statement).

Source quote partly matched; being reviewed.

Internship and placement

Required internship

An internship or externship is part of the program requirements.

Published duration
210 hours (at least six weeks)
Student responsibilities
Supervised externship in a food-service setting after classroom training; ICE recommends restaurant kitchens but hotels, caterers, corporate dining or test kitchens may be requested.

No placement is guaranteed unless the school states so. Restaurant names or logos on a school’s site do not prove a current training partnership.

Admissions

Prior education
High school graduate, GED or other state-certified high school equivalency (documentation required).
Language requirements
Proficiency in English required; proof by test or internal assessment per the catalog.
Entry route
Application reviewed on motivation and likelihood of academic success.

Source quote partly matched; being reviewed.

Costs

Original currency is authoritative. Tuition, mandatory extras and accommodation are shown separately and never converted or added together for you.

ItemAmountApplies toDated
Total Institutional Charges, 8 months morning/afternoon (cash)Tuition · mandatoryUSD 45,450for the whole program, classes starting after 2026-09-01All studentsIncludes uniforms, books, knives and tools, ingredients, enrichment classes and field trips (New York campus).16 October 2026SourceSource quote partly matched; being reviewed.

No mandatory extras (uniform, knife kit, ingredients, equipment, examination fees) are published for this program. Ask the school what is not included in the tuition.

Funding

  • Income-based grants and scholarships (Federal Pell Grants, school and third-party scholarships) Funding

    Basis not stated

    Qualifying students

    Source

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: teaching and practical hours.

Sources and how this was checked