Diploma · Initial professional preparation
Career Culinary Arts (Diploma Program)
Institute of Culinary Education (ICE) · ICE New York, New York · United States
- Official award
- Career Culinary Arts Diploma
- Duration
- 8-12 months (8 months morning/afternoon, 11 months weekend, 12 months evening)
- Delivery
- On campus · Full-time
- Tuition
- USD 46,950see costs below
Award and recognition
Classic and contemporary cooking technique, palate training and kitchen teamwork, followed by a supervised externship.
- Qualification category
- Diploma
- Award status
- Provider-issued awardIssued by the training provider itself. Check separately whether any authority or employer recognises it.
- Awarding body
- Institute of Culinary Education
- Issued by the school
- Yes: the provider issues this award itself
- On completion
- A diploma in Culinary Arts from ICE.
- Purpose
- Initial professional preparation
- Subject
- Culinary arts, Professional cookery
- Entry level
- Entry level not stated
Stated by the schoolAccrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges (ACCSC)Accreditation
Scope: Institution (as stated by ICE)
Stated by the schoolNew York State Bureau of Proprietary School Supervision (BPSS)Licence to operate or award
Scope: New York campus (as stated in catalog)
Structure and practical training
- Duration
- 8-12 months (8 months morning/afternoon, 11 months weekend, 12 months evening)
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the campus.
- Teaching language
- English
- Note on hours
- 400+ classroom hours before the externship (page statement).
Source quote partly matched; being reviewed.
Internship and placement
Required internship
An internship or externship is part of the program requirements.
- Published duration
- 210 hours (at least six weeks)
- Student responsibilities
- Supervised externship in a food-service setting after classroom training; ICE recommends restaurant kitchens but hotels, caterers, corporate dining or test kitchens may be requested.
No placement is guaranteed unless the school states so. Restaurant names or logos on a school’s site do not prove a current training partnership.
Admissions
- Prior education
- High school graduate, GED or other state-certified high school equivalency (documentation required).
- Language requirements
- Proficiency in English required; proof by test or internal assessment per the catalog.
- Entry route
- Application reviewed on motivation and likelihood of academic success.
Source quote partly matched; being reviewed.
Costs
Original currency is authoritative. Tuition, mandatory extras and accommodation are shown separately and never converted or added together for you.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Institutional Charges, 8 months morning/afternoon (cash)Tuition · mandatory | USD 46,950for the whole program, classes starting after 2026-09-01 | All studentsIncludes uniforms, books, knives and tools, ingredients, enrichment classes and field trips (New York campus). | 16 October 2026SourceSource quote partly matched; being reviewed. |
| Total Institutional Charges, 11 months weekend (cash)Tuition · mandatory | USD 43,950for the whole program, classes starting after 2026-09-01 | All students | 16 October 2026SourceSource quote partly matched; being reviewed. |
No mandatory extras (uniform, knife kit, ingredients, equipment, examination fees) are published for this program. Ask the school what is not included in the tuition.
Funding
Income-based grants and scholarships (Federal Pell Grants, school and third-party scholarships) Funding
Basis not stated
Qualifying students
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: teaching and practical hours.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 16 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. How verification works.
Sources (checked 16 October 2026)