Diploma · Initial professional preparation
Online - Culinary Arts & Food Operations (Diploma Program)
Institute of Culinary Education (ICE) · United States
- Official award
- Culinary Arts & Food Operations diploma
- Duration
- 16 months
- Delivery
- Online · Part-time
- Tuition
- USD 22,500see costs below
Award and recognition
Core cooking technique, culinary theory and food-business fundamentals taught online by chef-instructors, with a required in-person industry externship.
- Qualification category
- Diploma
- Award status
- Provider-issued awardIssued by the training provider itself. Check separately whether any authority or employer recognises it.
- Awarding body
- Institute of Culinary Education
- Issued by the school
- Yes: the provider issues this award itself
- On completion
- A diploma in Culinary Arts & Food Operations from ICE.
- Purpose
- Initial professional preparation
- Subject
- Culinary arts, Culinary management
- Entry level
- Entry level not stated
Stated by the schoolAccrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges (ACCSC)Accreditation
Scope: Institution (as stated by ICE)
Structure and practical training
- Duration
- 16 months
- Delivery
- OnlineCoursework is delivered online. Practical kitchen work may still need your own kitchen, equipment or a campus visit; see the online details.
- Teaching language
- English
- Published teaching hours
- 900 hours
- Note on hours
- Page describes a 900-hour program; about 18 hours per week.
Source quote partly matched; being reviewed.
Internship and placement
Required internship
An internship or externship is part of the program requirements.
- Student responsibilities
- On-site externship after coursework completion.
- Geographic restrictions
- Online program available to students in select states.
No placement is guaranteed unless the school states so. Restaurant names or logos on a school’s site do not prove a current training partnership.
How the online or hybrid delivery works
Online coursework does not mean no physical practice. These are the published practical requirements.
- Coursework
- Videos, readings, projects and chef-led classes available live or on demand; asynchronous.
- Teaching format
- Live and recorded
- Campus attendance
- Externship must be completed in person; optional two-day Palate Development Bootcamp at the Los Angeles campus, included with tuition.
- Home-kitchen practical work
- Students cook in their own kitchen.
- Equipment you need
- Tuition includes required books and supplies, including a laptop.
- Assessment
- Regular personalized feedback via photo, video and written submissions.
- Internship
- Required industry externship.
Admissions
- Intakes
- Start date shown on the program page: October 26 (year not stated).
Source quote partly matched; being reviewed.
Costs
Original currency is authoritative. Tuition, mandatory extras and accommodation are shown separately and never converted or added together for you.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total cost, 16 months online (asynchronous)Tuition · mandatory | USD 22,500for the whole program, classes starting September 17, 2026 | All students | 16 October 2026SourceSource quote partly matched; being reviewed. |
No mandatory extras (uniform, knife kit, ingredients, equipment, examination fees) are published for this program. Ask the school what is not included in the tuition.
Funding
Income-based grants and scholarships (Federal Pell Grants, school and third-party scholarships) Funding
Basis not stated
Qualifying students
Sources and verification
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 16 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. How verification works.
Sources (checked 16 October 2026)